Stop copy-pasting viral privacy hoax on your timeline, telling your private data will be made public,

The privacy hoax is back again after already fooling people in 2012, 2014, 2015. A large number of people are posting the privacy hoax on their timeline. I have seen many of friends posting the same privacy or some modifies version of it on their walls. 

The privacy hoax notice says that your photos and posts will be made public by Facebook if you do not put it on your timeline. It also describes some Rome law which can be used to prevent violation of privacy. The notice ask in the end to copy paste it on your timeline, not to share. 

How the privacy hoax looks like ?

The message exactly looks like the one below. 

I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute).

NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. copy and paste.” 

You will also find one with description of Channel News 13 like the one in image above. 

This is not a official message or text from Facebook. Just a privacy hoax, started by some people around the world.

Weird thing is that, Many educated people who knows very wells about privacy and also know how to check privacy on Facebook falls prey to it. I think people copy-pasted without giving it a thought of second.

This privacy hoax becomes so viral that, even Facebook needed to give a alert statement about it. 

Facebook-alert-privacy-hoax-post

Facebook notified

You may have seen a post telling you to copy and paste a notice to retain control over things you share on Facebook. Dont believe it. Our terms say clearly: You own all of the content and information you post on Facebook, and you can control how its shared through your privacy and application settings. Thats how it works, and this hasnt changed.  ” 

Why we believe its just a privacy hoax ?

  • Facebook itself issued the statement about it being privacy hoax. Biggest proof.
  • Some posts talk about Channel 13 News, which I dont think exists. 
  • It talks about Rome law, that law will apply to Rome only.

If you really want privacy then, remove and stop adding people you dont know to your profile. When you post anything on your timeline, change its privacy (audience) as appropriate to post like friends, friends of friends, public or some specific group of people. 

You can check your privacy, know what content you share with whom by going to Privacy tab of Setting ( Account Settings>Privacy). If you have already posted one such on your timeline, just go & quietly delete it and also ask your friends to put it down of their walls.

For instant updates, Follow us on Twitter

READ  Nokia will come back with Android OS smartphones and tablets

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Share this: